Bookshow-Squeare

18 — 20 august. I Book Show

On the weekend of 18-20th of August, Photobookshow in partnership with Taiga and FotoDepartament, will host I Book Show – an exhibition of self-published photobooks. This is the ninth show in the ongoing photobook exhibition series. Previous exhibitions have been hosted in cities including Tokyo, Malmo, London and Helsinki. Photobookshow collective will visit Russia for the first time.

Photobookshow is a Brighton-based arts organisation, set up in 2011 to raise the profile of artist-led photobooks.It’s a self funded project and is supported generously by galleries and supporters giving up their free time, not to mention the amazing support and generosity of the photobook community. To further increase accessibility of the artform, Photobookshow has established a free library of photobooks for public perusal at Workflow Studio in Brighton alongside its bookmaking facilities.

All shows are named in alphabetical order. Previous exhibition “H” Book Show, was held in London. It presented books made by 80 international authors. “G” Book Show took place in Tokyo, exhibiting 90 books made by local photographers. Besides Open Call submissions, Photobookshow regularly take its archive on tour. These events include photobook displays, photobook making workshops, lectures and film screenings. Last year such exhibitions were held in Lithuania and Ukraine.

Open Call for I Book Show saw more than a hundred submissions from all over the globe. Russian photographers were given an opportunity to present their work competition free. Overall, there will be 70 books on the display. Countries represented will include Japan, Australia, America, France, Germany, Holland and Italy.

http://photobookshow.co.uk/shows/i-book-show/

18 — 20  AUGUST
Opening 18 August, 19:00
Free entrance

VK / Facebook

Bookshow-Squeare

18 — 20 августа. I Book Show

С 18 по 20 августа в пространстве «Тайга» пройдет выставка фотокниг I Book Show — девятый по счету проект британского коллектива Photobookshow из серии выставок фотокниг. Экспозиции регулярно устраиваются по всему миру и уже проводились в Финляндии, Японии, Швеции, Англии и Украине. Россию BookShow посетит впервые. Выставка организована совместно с «Фотодепартаментом».

Организация Photobookshow основана в Брайтоне в 2011 году с целью вдохновлять авторов заниматься самостоятельным изданием фотокниг и качественно повышать их уровень. Каждый год команда проводит выставки, лекции, диалоги и семинары с целью познакомиться с новыми именами и пополнить свою обширную коллекцию фотокниг.

Предыдущая выставка из серии — «H» Book Show прошла в Лондоне в 2014 году и собрала работы более 80 фотографов. А шоу под буквой «G», проводившееся в Токио, представило около 90 книг японских фотографов. Помимо «алфавитной» серии коллектив устраивает экспозиции, где посетители могут познакомиться с архивом Photobookshow, послушать лекции и изучить сферу в рамках различных мастер-классов. Подобные события проводились на Украине летом и в Литве осенью прошлого года.

На выставке будет показано около 70 книг зарубежных и российских фотографов. Для набора книг был объявлен международный конкурс, также был открыт приём работ для авторов из России. В конкурсе приняли участие авторы со всего мира, включая такие страны как Япония, Австралия, Америка, Франция, Германия, Голландия и т.д. Работы российских авторов принимались вне конкурса. С полным списком авторов можно ознакомиться на сайте выставки.

18—20 АВГУСТА
Открытие 18 Августа, 19:00
Вход свободный
VK / Facebook